MANs demanding job search evidence

"Don' worry Mr Frog, I'm independent."

“Don’ worry Mr Frog, I’m independent.”

Advertisements

24/11/13 MANs – 1ST LETTER OF COMPLAINT

24th November 2013

Manager
1st tier contractor

Dear Manager

Formal complaint stage 1 – Incorrectly issued Mandatory Activity Notifications

As I have now completed the Work Programme I thought it appropriate to address my Stage 1 complaint to you.  If someone else should deal with this complaint please forward this letter to them.

Two of the WP08 forms I received through my SAR reveal that I was mandated to perform activities that I should not have been asked to do.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Date:  17/01/13
Advisor:
Details of mandated activity:  “Return a reply form with job seeking activities by 16th January”

Date:  31/01/13

Advisor:

Details of mandated activity:  “Respond with provided form to give us an update of job seeking activites with stamped addressed envelope by 29th Jan”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

When I first saw these WP08 forms I was caused some distress.

Why was I incorrectly mandated to perform the activities referred to in the above table?

I would prefer to be contacted in writing and request that a copy of your formal complaints procedure be included with the response.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely

15/3/14 My 1st letter to ICE

15th March 2014

The Independent Case Examiner
PO Box 209
Bootle
L20 7WA

Dear Independent Case Examiner

Complaint:  Work Programme provider twice incorrectly mandated me to submit details of my job searching activities in January 2013

I am not satisfied with their final response to my letter of complaint dated 24th November 2013 and consequently would like you to consider the matter.

In her letter of response dated 9th December 2013 Ms … of 1st tier contractor wrote:

“In response to your query with regard to two requests for information contained within the relevant WP08 forms as outlined in your letter dated 24th November 2013, received by us on 27th November 2013, we are fully within our rights to request that a customer is mandated to take part in any activities relating to the Work Programme which, in itself is a full mandatory programme.” (my emphasis)

Here are details of the WP08 forms that prompted my complaint:

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Date:  17/01/13
Advisor:
Details of mandated activity:   “Return a reply form with job seeking activities by 16th January”

Date:  31/01/13

Advisor:

Details of mandated activity:  “Respond with provided form to give us an update of job seeking activites with stamped addressed envelope by 29th Jan”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Here is part of a response from the DWP Central Freedom of Information Team dated 10th September 2013 (ref. VTR 4166):

“A Work Programme provider may ask you to provide evidence of your job search as part of their support they give you but they cannot mandate you to provide it and you will not be sanctioned if you do not provide it.”

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/174813/response/427937/attach/html/3/4166%20Response.pdf.html

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours faithfully

Encs.
Formal Complaint Stage 1 – Incorrectly issued Mandatory Activity Notifications

Final response from 1st tier contractor

Final response from WP provider

WP08s (17/1/13) (31/1/13)